LED Flower Vase

19 12 2007

I want to make something simple, small and elegant for my lover’s birthday. Finally I come up with using 5×7 dot matrix led to make a flower vase, it can be used to display some text messages for her:)

flower03.jpg

Here are the components:

1. 5×7 dot matrix led
2. Atmel AVR tiny13
3. 2 x 74HC595 shift register with Latch
4. 2 x wooden prototype boards
5. 1 x coin battery holder
6. 1 x CR2032 coin battery (3V)
7. 3 x paper flowers
8. semi-transparent brown mud (from Franc Franc)
9. Switch for turning ON/OFF

I want to make things small, so I put the 5×7 dot matrix led horizontally and used the 5×4 dot matrix font, such that it can nearly display 2 characters at a time. For the MCU part, AVR Atmel tiny13 is a very small MCU, it is quite suitable for this kind of small application. The only problem is that it has limited IO pins, I have to use 2 x 74HC595 chips to extend the output pins, so I can driver 5×7 dot matrix led with only 3 IO pins, i.e. Clock Data, Latch.

flower02.jpg

Sorry for not posting any circuit digram, as I make it in hurry. After I spend a lots of time soldering the lines linking between the leds and the shift registers, here is the circuit board:

flower01.jpg

Then, I program the AVR Tiny13 with the STK500, the socket on the prototype board is a DIP socket, so I program the Tiny13 on STK500 and then put it back on the board to test. After several hours, the software is done.

Let’s put all the things together! I really love the effect when putting the led matrix in the transparent mud, the brown color is a good match.

flower04.jpg

Video demo:

Lastly, don’t forget the packing!

flower05.jpg

Hope you all may find useful.

Please also check out the notes by bitartist, including schematic & source codes:

http://www.bitartist.org/2009/02/led-flower-vase-supplementary-note.html

Actions

Information

14 responses

19 12 2007
HOW TO - Make a LED flower vase » Developages - Development and Technology Blog

[…] Here’s how to make a simple LED flower vase… Link. […]

19 12 2007
Rann Fox

Very nice, but circuit diagrams would be nicer. It’s nice to see how other people do things. I about half way figured out how you did it from the discription but I am a little courious as to the latch configuration.

19 12 2007
Todd

This is a great idea!
I would attempt to make it if you had a circut diagram.
I would love to buy this as a kit.
Cheers!

19 12 2007
Alessandro

Neat, congratulations. I hope the schematic and code are next !
Ciao

20 12 2007
links for 2007-12-20 « Rob Edwards: Collection of my daily bookmarks: roedward

[…] LED Flower Vase « Kaas Log Book (tags: diy fun make LED flowervase deisgn matrix) Posted by roedward Filed in Uncategorized […]

20 12 2007
whyamistilltyping

Nicely done! I would just like to echo that call for a circuit diagram! :)

21 12 2007
frmad

This post is very hot, it is high ranked at http://www.adminor.info (daily weblog, weblog post ranking site)

23 12 2007
Top blogs, hot posts 12/20/2007 7:29:51 AM « conduong.co.cc

[…] LED Flower Vase I want to make something simple, small and elegant for my lover’s birthday. Finally I come up with using 5×7 […] […]

20 02 2008
bitartist

Very nice project. Stylish and Trendy!

6 08 2008
LED Flower Vase : One Red String

[…] a high-tech wedding? Complete it with these LED vases as your centerpiece! You can even customize it with your own text messages. This would definitely […]

23 10 2008
vpic16f877

hi!
why you don’t share the schematic of this project to everybody?

24 04 2009
Rus Sulistyono

I need software scrolling led dot matrix.

9 08 2011
ogloszenia londyn

I like this website its a master peace ! Glad I discovered this on google .

5 01 2012
tennis shoes manufactured in usa

Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, as well as the content!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

