Programming AVR ATtiny13 with STK500

11 02 2008

The STK500 comes with a manual with all the instructions for programming the AVR processors. The only problem is that I want to use it to program the AVR tiny13 which is not yet ready when the time the manual was printed. After searching on the web, I found out that the instructions are ready on the help page of the latest AVR Studio for Windows. Finally, I can program my AVR tiny13 with STK500. I am using my Mac to program the AVR tiny13, so I better write it down here. Hope it may help you also.

stk500_tiny13_1.jpg

Step 1 – Place the ATtiny13 (DIP) to the SCKT3400D1.

stk500_tiny13_21.jpg

Step 2 – Connect the ISP6PIN socket to SROG1 with the 6-pin cable provided.

stk500_tiny13_31.jpg

Step 3 – Connect the PORTE/RST to PORTB/PB5 and also PORTE/XT1 to PORTB/PB3. I used the 2 pin cables provided, it is a bit lossy.

Actions

Information

14 responses

6 08 2008
Justin Winter

This post was extremely helpful as well. Thank you. I really appreciated the quality images.

8 12 2008
mehdi

ok

30 04 2009
Benadski

What’s wrong with the original (high voltage) programming written in the old STK500 guide? Just use the settings for tiny15 and works like a charm! 🙂

13 05 2009
wisnu hidayat

help me, I need to read the program inside my ATtiny13
But it’s been locked because the Lockbits set to level 3
If I use this kind of method, will I lose the program inside???

13 05 2009
wisnu hidayat

help me, I need to read the program inside my ATtiny13
But it’s been locked because the Lockbits set to level 3
If I use this kind of method, will I lose the program inside???

Please reply ASAP

13 09 2009
Benadski

You can just use the serial high voltage configuration documented in the manual. Use ATtiny13 instead of ATtiny15L and youre ready to go! No need for special methods. 🙂

And if your AVR is locked, you cannot read the code back. The only way this might be possible is to dissolve the plastic and look/poke around at the die of the IC.

24 09 2009
Программируем ATtiny13 в STK500 » ADTL Blog

[…] Вольный перевод статьи взятой отсюда. […]

16 06 2011
Teee

Thank you so much, this article was exactly what I needed!

23 06 2011
Iron Deficiency

Hi there, I found your site via Google while searching for a related topic, your site came up, it looks great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

9 08 2011
ogloszenia londynek

I also think hence , perfectly written post! .

10 09 2011
Market Android Games

Wonderful goods from you, man. Programming AVR ATtiny13 with STK500 Kaas Log Book I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful Programming AVR ATtiny13 with STK500 Kaas Log Book informations.

29 04 2014
Denis@ru

Thank’s!

1 05 2014
Sim

For correct port numbers on the connector PORTB, Attiny be inserted into the connector SCKT36001A

1 05 2014
Sim

Sorry, did not see that you are using Attiny13 for it all right 🙂 I used Attiny15L and for which it is necessary to change the connector

Leave a Reply

